Pulitzer Prize for Journalism

The Pulitzer Prize was created by Joseph Pulitzer, a Hungarian-American publisher. This award honors the achievements of those who work in literature, music composition, and newspaper journalism. Currently, Columbia University administers the Pulitzer Prize to its recipients.

History of the Pulitzer

The Pulitzer Prize’s founder, Joseph Pulitzer, was a journalist as well as a newspaper editor who established the newspaper–St. Louis Post-Dispatch. Later, he purchased the paper called New York World. When he died in 1911, Pulitzer bequeathed a substantial monetary donation to Columbia University with the stipulation that a portion of his gift be used to fund the founding of Columbia’s journalism school, which was created in 1912. The first round of Pulitzer Prizes were given in 1917 and are currently awarded each year in April via an independent board of directors.

Prizes and Awards

The prizes for the Pulitzer are given every year in 21 various categories; however, only 20 winners will be awarded $10,000 and a certificate. The winner of the Pulitzer’s public service category in relation to the journalism competition will also receive a gold medal in addition to the cash prize and certificate. Traditionally, the public service recognition is given to an actual newspaper publication but in some cases, an individual journalist will be recognized in the citation.

Entry Requirements

In order to be considered for a Pulitzer Prize, the competitor is required to register as well as pay an entry fee of $50. Also, the contestant must enter a piece of work that falls into one of the 21 prize categories instead of a general piece of literature or composition. There is a limit set that states potential Pulitzer winners may only submit no more than two bodies of work and each piece must be entered into separate categories.

Award Categories

The Pulitzer Prize awards are divided into various categories relating to letters, fiction, the arts, and newspaper journalism. Pulitzer eligibility states that only US newspapers, photographs, and published reports may receive a journalism award. However, in 2007, the Pulitzer independent board made the decision to allow online-based works, news publications, and organizations for every journalism category. The two prizes belonging to the Photography category can only be given for still images however.  Since online works are now considered, stylistic things like site & logo design,  graphics, animation, and even fonts can contribute to a online publisher’s chances to winning a prize.

Famous Pulitzer Prize Winners

There have been quite a few well-known Pulitzer Prize winners over the years. Some of these winners include Margaret Mitchell, John F. Kennedy, Saul Bellow, Eudora Welty, Ernest Hemingway, William Faulkner, Upton Sinclair, and Harper Lee. Roger Ebert took the Criticism category. For Drama, notable winners of the past include Arthur Miller, Tennessee Williams, and Rodgers and Hammerstein.

Pulitzer Winners Who Received Multiple Pulitzer Prizes

There are even Pulitzer recipients who have sweeped multiple awards in various categories. Within a four-year time span, Booth Tarkington as well as Eugene O’Neill managed to win twice and between the years of 2008-2010, Gene Weingarten won two awards. Thorton Wilder received two for Drama and one for Novels. Then, there is Robert Penn Warren–a Fiction and Poetry Pulitzer winner.